Writing a Dream

Twitter Killer


People on Twitter may kill me for this one.

I will never follow 25k people. Ever.

Why? That’s something a retard would do. Yes, I said it. Let the hate mail and unfollows begin.

Let’s face it. The only reason people follow 25k  are because they are wanting those 25k to follow them back. Thing is those 25k people are only following back for the exact same reason. The thing about Twitter though is to have people follow you who actually read your tweets and when someone is following 25k people…come on, do you really think they give a damn about what you are tweeting? Their twitter feed is so filled with spam, it’s probably nearly impossible to decipher one tweet from the next. Yes, I know there are apps and so forth that can help, but still. The chances that you will get noticed and added to said app are slim to none. I used to be like many of those people, desperate for followers, wanting to get as many as possible, but I am breaking from that. I have slowly been dropping my follows down to people I actually interact with. Of those that are left, I generally do read their tweets, at least from time to time so if I follow you, rest assured it’s because I actually read your tweets and NOT because you are following me. That number will continue to decline. I am going through my lists and if I see someone with a ridiculously large number of people they are following, I am more than likely going to drop them. I have maybe 1 or 2 exceptions to this rule. Why? Those people I am actually close to and have known for awhile and I actually do speak to them beyond twitter.

As for everyone else? Sorry, but I refuse to play this “Follow me and I’ll follow you back!” game any longer. You can hate me now. You won’t be the first.

Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...

Image via CrunchBase

One response

  1. follow me!
    i actually agree with you completely. i’m not big on twitter anyway, but it seems to be an ego thing. is that what the internet has done to make the popular people more global?

    January 29, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Leave a Reply

